Review: Rosy Lovers

TITLE: ROSY LOVERS          

COUNTRY: South Korea

Genre: Romance, Family Drama

Episodes: 52

Synopsis: The story of a college student couple who unintentionally becomes parents and realize the true meaning of love and life. Jang Mi is an immature mama’s girl who grew without experiencing any hardship in life. Unlike her parents’ will to marry her off to a promising man they choose for her, Jang Mi has the hope to marry someone she falls madly in love with. As she dates innocent engineering student Cha Dol, she slowly begins to realize the meaning of love.

Story Line

I got hooked on Rosy Lovers from the very beginning. I decided to give it a go because I’m a fan of Lee Jang Woo, who played Cha Dol. The innocent puppy love between Jang Mi and Cha Dol, and crazy family drama in the first couple of episodes drilled me in. It’s a typical Korean family drama with the secrets, twits and turns. The not so typical part about it was the story line. The synopsis does not do it justice. Jang Mi and Cha Dol are two college students who were in love and fell pregnant unexpectedly.

The story showed how the couple dealt with their unplanned pregnancy, how each member of their families dealt with it. They really showed us how different people react and deal with situations when life happens that a lot of people can relate to. We are so used to stories about single mothers, and runaway fathers but it was the other way around. So I just gave a spoiler, sorry! No more spoilers, I promise 🙂

It centers around the couple and the entanglements between families. It was funny, thanks to Yoon Ah Jung who played, SeRa and  Choi Phillip who played her lover, Go Jae Dong. I cried. I had scenes that made me mad, so mad I had to pause whatever episode and continue later. I had lots of moments when I just had to cry it out and come back to the show later or finish the episode on another day. It was intense.

Cast

I love long family dramas – at least 30 episodes. The story showed a whole lot about the dynamics of the different families involved. There’s the rich chaebol family, the middle class family,the single parent poor family.You know the characters are doing their job if you’re loving or hating their characters. Some you just can’t stand. I had a problem believing Kim Min Seo’s character, Baek Seo Ryun. Then I remembered I enjoyed her in The Moon Embracing The Sun. and thought that’s what the writer wanted. Other wise,The characters were believable.

Conclusion

Initially, it was supposed to be 50 episodes and eventually got an addition of 2 more episodes. I don’t have a problem with extra episodes added mid season or last minute. My problem was every fate of each character, family, couple was concluded in the last episode. It made me wonder if the writer really planned it out well. I mean every thing I was expecting (or not expecting) happened all in an episode. That is poor in my book. Happy endings? Yes please, Sad endings? I love surprises. But all in the last episodes for more than 10 characters with different relationships? No, thank you! The conclusion could have spanned out through the last five episodes. A family drama with about 15 important characters should have ended better. It could have been shorter than 52 episodes.

Rating: 4/5

Am I going to watch it again? : Maybe

Should you watch?: Yes. The story is great. It will keep you wanting more.

What do you think?

