Favorite K-dramas : 2009 -2014

Happy New Year! Hope it is off to a great start already!

Image result for kdrama memes

I decided to introduce K-drama to the blog! For those who do not know, “K-drama” is an abbreviation for Korean Drama. I enjoy watching these television dramas from South Korea.  A friend of mine introduced me to it and I have been hooked for almost four years now. I’m Nigerian and no, I’m not fluent in Korean language but I think I’m getting there, *side eye”

It started with Boys Over Flowers, boy oh boy, was I hooked. After that drama marathon, I wanted MORE!. More of Lee Min Ho and Kim Hyun Joong! More of the drama, the love, the romance… really, i thought it was that good. Just like that I was welcomed to the world of K-drama.

Here are my favorite kdramas in no particular order:

Boys Over Flowers (2009)

Image result for BOYS OVER FLOWERS

This drama made me cry and laugh so much.  Half the time I caught myself screaming at my iPad. Yeah, we both know that’s normal, right?  It was my first initiation to the Chaebol craze and second lead syndrome. Lee Min Ho and Ku Hye Sun have us that young love which consisted of petty fights, misunderstandings and make ups. You definitely can not have a kdrama without character developments.  Personally, Boys over Flowers was so popular  when it aired so that is also a plus. Ah! I enjoyed it. Watch why Lee Min Ho got so popular here

Can You Hear My Heart (2011)

Synopsis: Hwang Jung Eum played the role of Bong Woo Ri,  a  young woman who did her best to provide and protect her deaf mother and mentally ill father. Family trials brought Bong Woo Ri closer to a deaf rich man, Dong Joo(Kim Jae Won) who is hunted by his family’s dark secrets

Omo! Omo! This drama right here was so good. I became a fan of Hwang Jung Eum because of her performance in this drama. The cast was great. This is a must-see, It is going to tug at your heart-strings. Do not sleep on this drama.  Get your tissues ready and Watch it here

A Gentleman’s Dignity (2012)

Synopsis: four best friends in their 40s dealing with their romantic and professional lives. Jang Dong Gun stars as the male lead(Kim Do-Jin) who wants love but does not want to share his wealth. Kim Ha Neul stars as the female lead, she plays Seo Yi-Soo,  who falls in love with Kim Do-Jin.

A Gentleman’s Dignity was mature and refreshing drama. Initially, I was not going to watch it, but it was really good. It is not about that young annoying love stories. It is mature but cute and kept me wanting more. I have seen it twice, yup! it’s that good. All the cast were great and it was my first time watching any of their work. Watch it here

My Love from Another Star (2013)

Synopsis:It is about an alien, Do Min Joo (Kim Soo Hyun), who crash landed on earth and was left behind, thus lived on earth for 400 years among humans and falls in love with an actress, Cheon Song-Yi ( by Jun Ji Hyun).

I am not much of a sci-fi fan; fantasy? yes. but not Sci-fi. I am not interested in all that vampire, alien, time traveling type of anything. I decided to be open-minded and gave it a go. My Love From Another Star had me in stitches from the first episode. seven out of ten times when a drama begins that good, the drama keeps that winning streak to the very last episode. It was very entertaining. I enjoyed it…duh! Please tell me you’ve seen it too. If you haven’t, Watch it here

The Moon Embracing The Sun (2012)

Synopsis: the story of the undying love between the crown prince, Lee Kwon (Kim Soo Hyun) and a noble girl, Wol (Han Ga In). Wol was chosen as the crown princess but was believed dead until she reappeared 8 years later with no memory of her past. The kid actors were really good, I wished Han Ga In gave me more.I Felt like I was not getting something from her. Or maybe I’m just biased towards Kim You Jung who played the younger Wol. Yeah, she  is one of my favorite South Korean actresses. Anyway, If you are still sleeping on this drama, you need to wake up!! The cast should make you give it a try. Watch it here

Heirs (2013)

File:The Heirs - Korean Drama-p1.jpg
Solange, They did it first, yeah!. You know…that pose at your wedding that “broke the internet?”. well, they kinda did…

I do not think I need to introduce this majestic drama. It is everywhere, Heirs was quite popular when it aired. Even my mom watched with me and my sis. I remember the three of us spending time watching it together, it was a date! I have seen Heirs thrice… *covers face*. More than K-drama romance, I really enjoy watching it’s bromance, and Heirs gave me that and more.

Off topic but can I just rant for sec here? I really do not know which pair I prefer; Lee Min Ho and Kim Woo Bin or Lee Jong Suk and Kim Woo Bin( School 2013). I need them all in a drama. Wouldn’t that be great? *fans self*

Watch Park Shin Hye’s fall in love with Lee Min Ho here

Dong Yi (2010)

This was the time Kim You Jung became one of the  kid actresses I love to watch.

Synopsis: This is a historical drama based on the life of Dong Yi (Kim You Jung) who was later known as Choi Suk Bin (Han Hyo Joo), who was born a commoner that became a concubine to the King. Choi Suk Bin had to overcome political and personal battles to protect  and raise her son, the future king.

Dong Yi  is  was the reason Kim You Jung became one of the  kid actresses I love to watch. It is my all time favorite historical korean drama. It is also a true life story. I do not know a lot of K-drama fans who have seen this. Most people over look it  because it is historical and has 60 episodes. ha ha, yes! 60 episodes. I was hooked from the beginning. I recommend you to give it a try. If you liked Han Hyo Joo in Shinning Inheritance, you will love her in this drama. I think I might just watch it again. Watch it here

Iris (2009)

File:IRIS-KBS-p2.jpg

Synopsis: Two sworn brothers Hyeong Jun (Lee Byun Hun) and Sa Won(Jeong  Jun Ho) who are elite agents of the National Security Systems both fall  for fellow agent, Seung Hee(Kim Tae Hee). Hyeong Jun goes on an assignment in Hungary where he was betrayed. Upon returning to South Korea,  Hyeong Jun believed that everyone in his organization was either dead or working for the enemy. While Hyeong Jun carried out his revenge, he begins to discover the secrets of IRIS, a secret organization.

This is by faaaar (yeah, the distance is clear) my favorite action K-drama. It was thrilling, intense, romantic and exciting. I did not want it to end. I miss it so much (I bet I’m not the only one that has felt this way about certain dramas). The battle between love and duty. Ahh, it was one of my firsts and it was amazing, got me excited when I learned that a sequel series was in the works. Although the sequel was good, just was not the synopsis I expected. Watch IRIS here

Some Other kdramas I enjoyed are:

  • Bridal Mask
  • King 2 Hearts
  • Emergency Couple
  • Fated To Love You
  • City Hunter
  • Personal Taste
  • Coffee Prince
  • Secret Garden
  • Ice Adonis
  • Jang Bo Ri is Here
  • Pinocchio
  • Marriage, Not Dating
  • Hotel King
  • Gu Family Book
  • School 2013
  • Shining Inheritance
  • Three Brothers
  • Cunning Single Lady

 Happy New Year! Hope it is off to a great start already! I decided to introduce Kdrama to the blog! For those who do not know, "kdrama" is an abbreviation for Korean Drama. I enjoy watching these d...

I would like some recommendations too! What are some of your all time favorites?

2 thoughts on “Favorite K-dramas : 2009 -2014”

    1. Thanks for visiting, Cassandra! Bridal Mask was really good. It is about two brothers, one who was fighting for korean independence(bridal mask) and the other who was working for the Japanese police trying to capture the “bridal mask”. It’s not your typical historical drama and setting but it is about korean history.

What do you think?

