Sandra Oh Leaving ‘Grey’s Anatomy’

SANDRA OH

Sandra Oh is leaving “Grey’s Anatomy.”

Oh who plays the brilliant and sassy Cristina Yang on “Grey’s Anatomy” revealed Tuesday, she is leaving the series after the tenth season, The Hollywood Reporter reports.

“It’s been a great privilege to play the character of Cristina Yang on ‘Grey’s Anatomy,’ and I am both sad and excited to see where this, her final season will take her,” Oh said in a statement. “It was an emotional and deeply creative decision for me and I feel fully supported by [executive producer Shonda Rhimes] and the writers. It’s so rare in an actor’s life to be able to explore and grow a character so fully, so completely. I am profoundly grateful to everyone at ‘GA’ for the opportunity. I’m excited to celebrate and cherish every moment of my final season on GA with the fans who have made it all possible.”

The five-time Emmy nominee and Golden Globe winner has contemplated leaving the series when she signed a two-year contract after season 8.

“I’ve gone through a lot of therapy over this,” Oh told THR. “I started thinking about it because I had to prepare myself. I gave myself two years to emotionally let go. At the end of last season, Shonda [Rhimes] took me aside and said, ‘What are your thoughts?’ I said, ‘I’m ready.'”

Shonda Rhimes said in a statement: “One of the best days of my life as a writer happened the day Sandra Oh walked in my door to audition and forever changed the course of ‘Grey’s Anatomy’ with her brilliant, nuanced portrayal of Cristina Yang. Over the past 10 seasons, I have been made better by Sandra’s trust, faith and friendship and I can’t quantify how grateful I am for her collaboration on a character we both love so deeply. This year is going to be bittersweet for us — we’re both going to savor every moment of Cristina Yang and then we’re going to give her the exit she deserves. And when Sandra walks out of my door, ‘Grey’s Anatomy’ will be once again be forever changed.”

Original cast members Patrick Dempsey, Ellen Pompeo, Justin Chambers, Chandra Wilson and James Pickens Jr. also signed a two-year contract along with Oh.

Despite talk of cancellation, ABC reassured fans: “It’s our intention to have ‘Grey’s’ on the air for many years to come, with as many of the original cast as possible,” ABC said in a statement.

Will you miss Sandra Oh?

“Grey’s Anatomy” returns Sept. 26 on ABC.

What do you think?

