TV Pilot Reviews: ‘Mindy Project,’ ‘The New Normal’ And More

With the million shows premiering this fall, I decided to watch the new comedies’ pilots and share my first impressions with you.

If you haven’t watched the comedies, you can watch them online. Let’s start with FOX’s new comedies, “The Mindy Project” and “Ben and Kate.”

The Mindy Project

“The Mindy Project” premieres Sept. 15 on Fox.

The plot: Mindy Lahiri stars as Mindy, a 31-years-old Indian-American OB/GYN, who is successful in every area of her life, except her love life. Anna Camp plays Gwen, Mindy’s friend (I hope Anna will be given more screen time), Danny Castellano played by Chris Messina who is Mindy’s rival, fellow doctor, and potential love interest, and Ed Weeks plays Jeremy, Mindy’s fellow doctor and friend.

First impression: This show had everybody talking. When I saw the trailer, I mentally added it to my list of upcoming shows. Mindy is so funny and hilarious all the time, that you can’t stop grinning while watching the show.

Another thing that makes the show great is the cast: Anna Camp, Stephen Tobolowsky, Chris Messina and its guest stars: Bill Hader, and Ed Helms. Hello! I hope the show keeps inviting great guest stars.

I will definitely tune in. It is funny, fun and hilarious. However, the romantic clichés and untimely pop-culture references could be down turned a bit. Just a bit.

Grade: B

Ben and Kate

“Ben and Kate” premieres Sept. 15 at 7:30 p.m. on Fox.

The plot: An idiotic brother returns home to help his single sister raise her adorable five-year old daughter.

The pilot was good; it was not laugh-out-loud funny, but it was funny. The show has potential. I hope we get to see more of Tommy, Ben’s friend who is obsessed with Kate. Am I the only one who doesn’t find BJ funny?

If you don’t like watching shows which are stupidly funny, this show is not for you. The show has heart and potential, so I will give the show a few more episodes.

C+

“Animal Practice” premieres Sept. 26 at 7 p.m. on NBC.

The plot: Dr. George Coleman’s ex-girlfriend Dorothy Crane returns to run Crane Animal Hospital more “professionally” and annoy Coleman in the process.

I’m surprised I sat through it. The pilot was messy. Maybe the show should focus more on the animals other than the humans. The monkey (Hangover) was great, and it is pretty obvious she is the star of the show.

I’m a fan of Justin Kirk (“Weeds”), so might stick around. If you’re not or do not enjoy watching animals on-screen, this show is not for you.

Grade: D

The New Normal

“The New Normal” premieres Sept. 11 at 8:30 p.m. on NBC

The plot: a homosexual couple decides to have a baby via a surrogate. However, the surrogate they choose has an outspoken bigot grandmother, a cute daughter and financial problems.

This show was not on my radar, but it is now! The show is great. It delivers, and nails every scene. It has a lot of heart; it is funnay,  interesting, and entertaining. I want more!

The cast, including Nene Leakes rocked. The chemistry between the cast was great. I would be adding this show to my DVR. Despite the controversies surrounding this show, but I hope it sticks around. If you do not like the gays, this show is CLEARLY not for you. But if you do, you should give this show a trial and ratings!

Grade: A

Go On

“Go On” premieres Sept. 11 at 8 p.m. on NBC.

The plot: a sportscaster is requested to see a therapist after he losses his wife in an accident.

I know the show sounds depressing, but it isn’t. Well, not yet. When I learnt Matthew Perry was returning to prime time, I hoped he found a decent show. And I’m happy he did.

I hope the show is here to stay because the show is great. It is funny, witty, and definitely has potential.

Grade: B

Have you watched the pilots? What do you think? Share your thoughts below.

 

2 thoughts on “TV Pilot Reviews: ‘Mindy Project,’ ‘The New Normal’ And More”

  1. I’m totally agree with this, specially about The New Normal, this is one of my favorite choices to this season, and my favorite new show so far. I’m straight but you must be blind to don’t see how amazing it is….!!!!!

What do you think?

